120 calories under $10

Hello loves,

Recently I’ve been on quite the health craze, I’ve became a gym rat, and also have started eating better again. This receipt is my absolute favorite for many reasons, its quick, simple, cheap and tastes amazing, if you like tilapia of course. Prep takes around 10 minutes and cook time takes anywhere from about 10-14 minutes, hence the quick part its a great dinner choice on a busy night. So without further a due, continue to the step by step recipe and if you try it let me know what you think, also if you have other quick simple recipes go to the contact tab and feel free to email me them, I love trying new things!

 

1. PREHEAT OVEN

Fortunately this is one of those meals where both the main entree and the sides can be cooked at the same temperature, making for an even quicker meal. Before you begin, preheat oven to 425 degrees.

LRG_DSC05959

2. EVERYTHING YOU’LL NEED

LRG_DSC05938

I bought all of my items from HEB, but you can find all of these ingredients at pretty much any grocery store. I bought a pre washed and cut bag of asparagus, 1 lb of fresh tilapia from the seafood market that amounted to 3 hefty pieces, salt, pepper, parsley flakes (you can also go for fresh parsley leaves), onion powder, garlic salt (garlic powder), and two fresh lemons.

 

3. Preparing the asparagus

LRG_DSC05941

In a medium mixing bowl, depending on how short your asparagus is cut, blend the asparagus, lemon juice from one half of one of the lemons, salt, pepper, garlic salt, and onion powder, make sure to get your hands dirty and mix really well so that all the asparagus in your bowl gets every ingredient.

LRG_DSC05944

4. PREP PAN FOR ASPARAGUS

Once I have my asparagus seasoned I like to separate my oven pan in two sections with foil. I like to use the foil to separate the two, and also for an easy clean up. So once I separate the pan with foil, I place the asparagus on one side and begin on the tilapia.

LRG_DSC05937

 

5. NOW TIME FOR THE TILAPIA

Like I said before I got my tilapia fresh from the seafood market, I do that mainly because the frozen packages of tilapia are too many pieces for me and I usually end up having to throw them away because they go bad, and also because I feel as though the fresh fish just tastes better.

LRG_DSC05951

I get paranoid when it comes to the cleanliness of fish, and honestly im not even sure if they clean the fish in the seafood department, so I always wash the fish off before I start preparing them. Afterwards, I lay them out and begin to season them but first I use the other half of the lemon that we used on the asparagus, and squeeze the juice of the lemon on both sides of every piece of tilapia. Then still making sure to get both sides use the seasonings, salt, pepper, the parsley flakes, garlic salt, and onion powder.

LRG_DSC05954

6. ALMOST DONE

After all sides are properly seasoned, I cut up the other lemon into small wedges, usually about 5/6 wedges.

LRG_DSC05947

 

7. PREP TO COOK

After your wedges are cut, lay your pieces of tilapia on the oven pan opposite of the asparagus, and place the lemon wedges on top. I usually do this just for more of the lemon taste, so that when the fish is in the oven the lemon wedges can soak through.

LRG_DSC05957

Now its all ready to cook. Make sure your oven has made it completely to 425 degrees. Place the pan in the oven for 11/12 minutes. I did 14 minutes this time because my tilapia pieces were rather thick.

LRG_DSC05962

Now all you have to do is wait it out, and it will be done cooking in no time! Unfortunately, I was in a hurry when I was cooking this and forgot to post the finished product but would love to see your finished products. Email me what you think, and if you have any other easy, healthy recipes, I love learning new recipes.

 

Thank you guys so much.

xoxo

Leave a comment